lkakpico.blogg.se

Tell me why ain't nothin but
Tell me why ain't nothin but









tell me why ain tell me why ain

"He wants to be the one to say it? Also what is 'it'"? "He doesn't wanna hear it because he is the one that wants it that way?" Chrissy Teigen tweeted in 2018, puzzled about the lyric's meanings. Then we get to the chorus, and we're completely lost. Cool.Ī little more muddy, but perhaps the girlfriend is suggesting in this situation the guy actually wants them to be "two worlds apart." Or maybe the girl is saying she wants to break things off. INSIDE OF ME= in BrE we would say "inside me", without OF.At this point, they're singing about wanting to be in a relationship with someone who sets their heart aflame. "I want you to leave" (= if you leave, I’m happy because that’s what I want).ĭEEP DOWN= this is a common expression that emphasises the meaning of "down", it is "down and down" (we can’t say "very down" because that means "very depressed"). The situation that I want is "you know", if you know, I’m happy. I WANT YOU TO KNOW= notice this construction. USED TO refers to a habit or situation that was true in the past but not now any more: "I used to be a soldier" (but now I’m not). TO FALL APART= to crumble, to be destroyed. WANNA= want to (again, in AmE T is often lost after N). Notice the pronunciation of the ending –ACHE (as in "ake"). A "heartache" is when your heart hurts (not physically, but emotionally, because of love). HEARTACHE= "a headache" is when your head hurts, feels painful. That’s incorrect in standard English but it happens in colloquial speech and dialects. "Ain’t nothing but a heartache"= it isn’t anything but a heartache= it’s only a heartache.ĪIN’T NOTHING= "it isn’t nothing". REACH TO a place= get there, be able to go thereĪIN’T= isn’t (coll.).

tell me why ain

WE ARE (TWO) WORLDS APART= there’s a lot of distance between us (not physical distance) Notice the common American rule: N+T=N, so he says /w ɒn ɪ t/instead of /w ɒn tɪ t/ I WANT IT THAT WAY= I want it like that (not differently). THE ONE DESIRE= my only desire, the only thing I desire or I want.











Tell me why ain't nothin but